Who can buy real estate in Turkey

Do foreigners have the right to own property in Turkey?

Turkey followed the reciprocity law, which restricts many foreign citizens from buying real estate in Turkey, in case the laws of his country do not allow Turkish citizens to buy real estate in it in return until 2012.

Then, in May 2012, the Turkish government began implementing a new law and lifting a large amount of these restrictions, and opening the Turkish real estate market to more than 129 different countries, with setting some rules for buying, which are still in effect today, such as that the property A foreign citizen in a city in Turkey cannot exceed 10% of that city’s area, and a foreign citizen cannot buy more than 300,000 square meters of land without obtaining the approval of the Ministry of Interior in Turkey first.

In this article, we will mention the details of the countries whose citizens are allowed to buy real estate and are prohibited from buying them and who are allowed to buy according to certain restrictions:

What are the countries whose citizens are allowed to buy real estate in Turkey without restrictions?

Citizens of these countries can buy real estate in Turkey without restrictions:

  • United States of America
  • Germany
  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Belgium
  • Please
  • Benin
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Brazil
  • Bulgaria
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Chad
  • China
  • Denmark
  • Dominican Republic
  • Estonia
  • Republic of Côte d’Ivoire
  • Finland
  • France
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Guinea
  • South Africa
  • South Korea
  • Georgia
  • Croatia
  • Netherlands
  • United Kingdom
  • India
  • Ireland
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Italy
  • Canada
  • Kenya
  • Northern Cyprus
  • Colombia
  • Kosovo
  • Libya
  • Lebanon
  • Luxembourg
  • Mali
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Namibia
  • New Zealand
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Norway
  • Palestine
  • Pakistan
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Peru
  • Romania
  • Serbia
  • Slovakia
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
  • Kuwait
  • Azerbaijan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Turkmenistan
  • Uzbekistan
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Yemen

What are the countries that prevent their citizens from buying real estate in Turkey?

  • Armenia
  • Syria
  • North Korea
  • Cuba

What countries impose restrictions on their citizens when buying real estate in Turkey?

  • Jordan
  • Israel
  • Fiji
  • East Timor

In some areas in Turkey, specific restrictions are imposed on citizens of certain foreign countries when they buy real estate in Turkey, and yet they can still own property in other regions of Turkey.

For example, Russian and Ukrainian foreign citizens cannot buy real estate along the Black Sea coast in Turkey.

Greek citizens are not allowed to buy real estate on the Black Sea coast and some parts of the Aegean  sea in Turkey.

Are there restrictions for citizens of certain countries to purchase a specific type of real estate?

There are 31 countries that place restrictions on their citizens, on the type of real estate they can buy in Turkey, for example:

Citizens of Morocco are not allowed to buy agricultural land.

As is the case with citizens of Egypt and Latvia, where they are also not allowed to own agricultural land.

As for the citizens of Afghanistan, they are not allowed to buy agricultural land, and they need special permission from the authorities to purchase other types of property.

As for Albanian citizens, they are allowed to buy residential and office real estate only in Turkey they are not allowed in any other type of real estate.

Join The Discussion

Compare listings